Entitlement. 

I see it everywhere and I get a cramp. Some new kid or guy going on a rant about what they’re owed and my palms go damp.

Wake the hell up kid nobody owes you shit. Our purpose in life is work and work and work and often to just get kicked.

Nobody down from Jesus to the Godess to your dad or your king needs to give a single solitary thing.

Shut your mouth, cut the bitching and get your ass in the sling. By the work of your hands honour and joy unto your name bring.

You’ll fail nine times in ten. Trust me I did it then I’ve done it now and I will again. 

But oh to earn by right what’s yours for true! There’s no sweeter joy, no greater gift, this I swear to you. 

Go and try it, just try and see. When you see I’m right think of this old man and remember me.

When you do, remember the truth of life:

Nothing but love is ever free.

Published by

Jacko Steenekamp

To sum myself up is simple. I'm weird.

Leave a Reply

