You.

You who would have me gone. You who would see me struck from this place. Go ahead my friend, chatter on. I laugh in your face.

Longer than than you and  yours have mine been here. I never took this place, I built it in the empty and unwanted spaces so spare me your rhetoric about injustice and races.

I have no wealth to hide from you. I have no hate for any who are different it’s true. Bait me all you can, I am not fooled. I was raised to do and die as is proper for a man.

Take some more, and legislate me into the ground. I shall endure, to this land my soul is bound. In time the truth of your madness will be found.

Come to break my doors again, take all I own, it’s been done before. See? The place is empty, naught here be wrought of gold and silver ore.

Tell the world my people are scum, the cost for that lie will be added to your tally sum.

All who live and here draw breath in the end shall embrace as equals in death. What have I to fear of you my friend? Turn your eyes within and from your “faithful” friends defend all that you have lied so hard to take and steal and apprehend.

Let go now, the past is done. Let the new day be begun. Will ye or no, I shall hither abide for as long as there is a burning African sun.

Published by

Jacko Steenekamp

To sum myself up is simple. I'm weird.

Leave a Reply

